Home TV Guide Soaps & Dramas Entertainment Lifestyle Sport News Weather Kids Region Shop  
2004 Awards winners

The South Bank Show Awards took place at London's Savoy hotel on January 23rd.

There were 12 categories in all.


Winner • In This World – Released in March 2003. Written by Tony Grisoni. Directed by Michael Winterbottom. Produced by Andrew Eaton & Anita Overland

Other nominations • Young Adam – Released in September 2003 starring Ewan McGregor and Emily Mortimer. Written and directed by David Mackenzie and based on the novel by Alexander Trocchi. Produced by Jeremy Thomas

• The Mother – Released in November 2003 starring Anne Reid and Daniel Craig. Written by Hanif Kureishi. Directed by Roger Michell. Produced by Kevin Loader

LITERATURE presented by Sophie Dahl

Winner • The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon - published by Jonathan Cape

Other nominations • Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller - published by Viking

• John Clare: A Biography by Jonathan Bate - published by Picador

DANCE presented by Tamara Rojo and Joaquin Cortes

Winner • Russell Maliphant - One Part 11, Two Times Three and Choice - performed in 2003

Other nominations • George Piper Dances for Mesmerics, Critics' Choice ***** and Broken Fall performed in 2003 • Jonathan Burrows - Both Sitting Duet and Singing - performed in 2003


Winner • Blur - Think Tank

Other nominations • Dizzee Rascal - Boy In Da Corner • Sugababes -Three

CLASSICAL MUSIC presented by Bryn Terfel

Winner • Sir Colin Davis and the London Symphony Orchestra for The Berlioz Odyssey. Season at the Barbican from January 2000 to February 2003

Other nominations • Mark Elder and the Hallι for The Elgar Edition. 1st Symphony recorded on 11th September 2001 to Summer 2002 at the Bridgewater Hall, Manchester and BBC Studios, Manchester. Released April 2003

• Simon Keenlyside for Winterreise, performed at the Barbican on 16th & 18th September 2003 and at the Theatre Royal, Newcastle on 20th September 2003

THEATRE presented by Ewan McGregor

Winner • Democracy at the National Theatre starring Roger Allam and Conleth Hill. Written by Michael Frayn. Directed by Michael Blakemore. Opened on 9th September 2003

Other nominations • After Miss Julie at the Donmar Warehouse, starring Helen Baxendale, Richard Coyle and Kelly Reilly. Adapted by Patrick Marber. Directed by Michael Grandage. Opened on 20th November 2003

• Jerry Springer The Opera at the National Theatre and the Cambridge Theatre starring Michael Brandon as Jerry Springer. Music by Richard Thomas, book & lyrics by Stewart Lee & Richard Thomas. Directed by Stewart Lee. Opened at the National Theatre on 24th April 2003

OPERA presented by Dame Josephine Barstow

Winner • Scottish Opera for Wagner's The Ring Cycle performed at the Edinburgh International Festival 11 - 30th August 2003 and Theatre Royal, Glasgow (1st Cycle 4th - 13th September, 2nd Cycle 30th October - 8th November 2003) and at The Lowry, Salford 3rd - 11th October 2003. Conducted by Richard Armstrong. Composed by Richard Wagner. Directed by Tim Albery

Other nominations • Glyndebourne Festival Opera for Wagner's Tristan und Isolde performed at Glyndebourne, May - July 2003. Conducted by Jiřί Bělohlαvek. Composed by Richard Wagner. Directed by Nikolaus Lehnhoff

• Channel 4 for The Death of Klinghoffer, broadcast on Channel 4 on Sunday 25th May 2003. Composed and conducted by John Adams. Written & Directed by Penny Woolcock. Produced by Madonna Baptiste and Blast! Films

VISUAL ARTS presented by Anish Kapoor

Winner • Chris Ofili for Venice Biennale - 15th June - 2nd November 2003

Other nominations • Bridget Riley for Bridget Riley at Tate Britain - 26th June - 28th September 2003

• Jake and Dinos Chapman for The Rape of Creativity at Modern Art Oxford - 12th April - 8th June 2003

TELEVISION presented by Sarah Lancashire

Winner • The Lost Prince - two-part drama Starring Miranda Richardson and Gina McKee. Written and directed by Stephen Poliakoff. Broadcast on BBC1 in January 2003

Other nominations • State of Play - six-part drama starring David Morrissey and John Simm. Written by Paul Abbott and directed by David Yates. Broadcast on BBC1 from May 2003

• Prime Suspect: The Last Witness - a two-part drama starring Helen Mirren, Ben Miles and Robert Pugh. Written by Peter Berry and directed by Tom Hooper. Broadcast on ITV1 in November 2003

COMEDY presented by Richard Curtis

Winner • Eddie Izzard for Sexie - World Tour, 2003.

Other nominations • Dave Gorman for Dave Gorman’s Googlewhack Adventure – National Tour, 2003

• Little Britain - created and performed by Matt Lucas and David Walliams. Originally Broadcast on BBC Three in September 2003 followed by a repeat on BBC2 in December 2003.

ARTS COUNCIL ENGLAND – decibel award Presented by Sir Trevor McDonald

Roy Williams


Dame Helen Mirren


Mohit Bakaya Editor, Night Waves BBC Radio 3 Ekow Eshun Journalist and Broadcaster Jane Ferguson Arts Editor, The Observer Annalena McAfee Editor, The Guardian Saturday Review Sarah Crompton Arts Editor, The Telegraph Christina Appleyard Editor, The Mail on Sunday's Night and Day magazine Samenua Sesher decibel - Arts Council England

From The South Bank Show Team Melvyn Bragg Non-voting Chairman Nigel Wattis Executive Producer Aurora Gunn Producer Susan Shaw Producer Matt Cain Producer

THE SOUTH BANK SHOW AWARDS 2004 are Produced by Matt Cain & Roz Edwards, Directed by Daniel Wiles and Executive Produced by Nigel Wattis

Michael Frayn
14/11/2004 22:45
The Darkness
21/11/2004 22:45
Iggy Pop
05/12/2004 22:45
Ruth Rendell
12/12/2004 22:45
Mary Poppins
26/12/2004 22:45